Santa Barbara Oil Spill

Public Domain Image: USGS

The Santa Barbara Oil Spill began with an offshore oil rig blowout on December 28, 1969. At the time, it was the largest oil spill in the waters of the United States. Oil from the spill reached the shore, nearly six miles away, accumulating in places at depths of up to six inches. It also killed marine mammals, thousands of sea birds, and prompted significant environmental legislation.